Ind. Homeland Security warns drivers to be careful


The state Department of Homeland Security is advising people in Floyd, Crawford and Washington counties in southern Indiana to stay off the roads.

The department issued travel warnings for those three counties, which is the highest level of local travel advisory. Homeland Security is asking people in those counties to refrain from travel.

Brown, Daviess, Franklin, Jefferson, Jennings, Knox, Martin, Owen, Perry, Scott and Vanderburgh counties were on travel watches, which means conditions are threatening to public safety. The department says only essential travel, such as to and from work or in emergency situations, is recommended.

Eighteen other counties are under travel advisories, meaning travel or activities may be restricted in areas because of a hazardous situation.

The advisories are listed at: